PDA

View Full Version : Help With counterstrike

Coding4Newbs
02-02-2006, 05:24 AM
Hey im a newbie to cs, im downloading source now, do i need half life 1 or 2 or counterstrike to play this?

- Thanjks

NekkLe
02-02-2006, 12:05 PM
Counterstrike source, I'm not sure if they've released a single disc/game for it yet but to my knowlege, I bought Half Life 2. It has CSS on the Half Life 2 disc and you can choose whether to install Half Life 2 or Counterstrike source.
Unless sierra have made a single game for CSS, you going to have to use Half Life 2 in order to play it.

teenagetimmy
02-02-2006, 12:32 PM
Have you bought a legal copy of Counter-Strike: Source? Or are you just downloading it from BitTorrent or something.Counter-Strike: Source uses Half-Life 2 Content, i believe you have to have to have Half-Life 2 installed to play CS: Source. Sierra has nothing to do with Half-Life 2 anymore i believe and Valve has released a CS Anthology pack which is: Counter-Strike 1.6, Condition Zero and Counter-Strike: Source

RebelScum
03-02-2006, 12:59 PM
Have you bought a legal copy of Counter-Strike: Source? Or are you just downloading it from BitTorrent or something.Counter-Strike: Source uses Half-Life 2 Content, i believe you have to have to have Half-Life 2 installed to play CS: Source. Sierra has nothing to do with Half-Life 2 anymore i believe and Valve has released a CS Anthology pack which is: Counter-Strike 1.6, Condition Zero and Counter-Strike: Source

If you have bought Counter-strike: Source through steam for 19.99 then, and ONLY then, can you play it without HL2 installed.

If I remember rightly, the "cs:s without hl2" package comes with half-life 2:deathmatch and Day of Defeat: Source free :)

Nixon!
04-02-2006, 09:07 PM
yeh that is right, and u can get the accounts for cheaper than 19.99, i paid 7.99 ;P

mnbvjifhgtge
04-02-2006, 09:08 PM