PDA

View Full Version : Statistics - English C/w - Got Full Marks *smirks*

jinxii
22-03-2006, 07:25 PM
Well, I got full marks for this. It's my coursework for my AS Level English Literature/Language exam, so I guess I worked hard on it. ;) I could post the commentary, which is about sentence structure and shiz, but I won't 'cause it's nearly 2000 words and it'll bore you. We could write about whatever we wanted, but unfortunately we had to look at some crappeh texts in class from which we can "be inspired by", i.e. pike ideas and stylistical syntactical/lexical features. The texts I studied were:
- Bliss by Katherine Mansfield
- Weekend by Fay Weldon
- Listen To The End by Tony Hunter
- Let Me Count The Times by Martin Amis
- Stone Trees by Jane Gardam.
The short story we wrote had to be no more than 1500 words.

I guess I wanted to write something emotive with lots of features in to write about in the stupid commentary, which accounts for 50% of the coursework grade. People who read my articles on Habbox from September 2004 to January 2006 will know my style, and this is very different. It is because we had to write in a similar style to the authors of our studied texts. =)

You may not pike this story in any way, shape or form for your own work without my express prior permission.

Statistics

Fred wasn’t very unusual, nothing unusual at all. Fred was nothing short of ordinary, in fact, Fred was ordinary. He was so unremarkable, so unremarkable, that if you saw him in the street you’d probably eye him for a second, momentarily note the ordinary mousy hair and the ordinary 5’ 11” of forty-something year old man and then absolutely fail to recall him if questioned later.

Not that anybody would question you later; Fred was just that ordinary. Unremarkable, unexceptional, unmemorable.