PDA

View Full Version : Tips on Web Designing

LoverRule
05-04-2006, 03:04 PM
Im thinking about designing a website layout. My first one (if I do one) will probably be pretty terrible, as I've never done one before :P Has anyone got any good tips for me, and is Macromedia Fireworks a good program to use? Thanks.

Edit: Btw, its a habbo layout I wanna do ;)

Tomm
05-04-2006, 03:04 PM
Read some tutorials first.

timROGERS
05-04-2006, 03:05 PM
Hello sister :P

LoverRule
05-04-2006, 03:07 PM
Read some tutorials first.

Okidoke, are there any good ones you would recommend for me?

Tomm
05-04-2006, 03:30 PM
Hello sister :P

Shes your sister lmao?

Luckyrare
05-04-2006, 03:31 PM
HIA EMZ!1111

Download fireworks and www.pixel2life.com

Craig
05-04-2006, 03:32 PM
Lets hope she is better than Tim >;P

Whatever you do,don't take tips from your bro:P Nah just kidding urmm you could ask your bro cos he's good at it ;) And tell him to stop being a willy.

timROGERS
05-04-2006, 03:39 PM
I'm helping her with stuff already :) HIA DANNI!

fdb
05-04-2006, 06:42 PM
www.w3schools.com for anything relating to coding.
As for actually designing a site itself, there are no real rules to how you make your site look and work but it's always a good idea to keep a few basic guidelines to make your site as accessible as possible, things such as avoiding those annoying javascript addons like animated cursors, falling leaves/snow etc and having too many scrolling text areas is always an instant put off for most visitors.
Also keep a good colour scheme in mind, you dont want something so bright and lairy that it burns your retinas so that you still see it when you shut your eyes. :p
Thats all pretty much common sense though, best way to work out what looks right is to surf a few fansites and see what they've done, i'm sure along the way you'll see a few that will give you a good idea of what not to do as well.:)