PDA

View Full Version : Div Frames Linking



:Lively
23-01-2005, 03:36 PM
i have finally figured out how to get div frames into my website. (div frames are areas of content which can be placed anywhere on the page).

However i dont know how to link to them. if anyone knows please reply!

:eusa_pray :eusa_pray :eusa_pray

iRoss
23-01-2005, 03:37 PM
maybe give and example of the HTML?

Thanks

:Lively
23-01-2005, 03:40 PM
div id=layer1 style="position:absolute; top:20; left:20; width:300; height:300; z-index:1; padding:5px; border: #000000 2px solid; background-color:#000000; background-image:url(yourfilename.gif); layer-background-image:url(yourfilename.gif);">

Content goes here (images, text)

</div>
....

this is an example.

i placed a few of these on my website, however i dont know how to link to each frame. visit www.habbo-weekly.uni cc

thats the page im trying to do, but my home link wont link proplerly

iRoss
23-01-2005, 03:41 PM
that link doesn't work...

Anti-Pod
23-01-2005, 03:41 PM
is it not just <a href="URL OF WEBSITE">Link Name</a>

Or

<div id=layer1 style="position:absolute; top:20; left:20; width:300; height:300; z-index:1; padding:5px; border: #000000 2px solid; background-color:#000000; background-image:url(yourfilename.gif); layer-background-image:url(yourfilename.gif);">

So Happy B-Day to Me, View My Profile By Clicking <a href="Url of site">Here</a>

</div>

:Lively
23-01-2005, 03:45 PM
www.habbo-weekly.uni.cc

soz bout that!

Anti-Pod
23-01-2005, 03:48 PM
have you tried my way? look up to see my post

:Lively
23-01-2005, 03:51 PM
i dint understand it, no offence


lil confusing

Anti-Pod
23-01-2005, 03:53 PM
ok, no problem you know were it says "Content Goes Here" Well In Html View Of That HightLight That Part "Content Goes Here" Not The Div, Then Put What You Wish, For The Link's Just Add This

<a href="http://www.habbox.com">Habbox</a>

But Change What's In Bold Red

So Ie:

Welcome To Habbo Weekly, To View Our New's Please Click Here.

Where It's In Bold Use The HyperLink Code Above ^^^


So In Preview It Would Show As :

Welcome To Habbo Weekly, To View Our New's Please Click Here (http://www.habbox.com).

:Lively
23-01-2005, 03:59 PM
im trying to link to div frames, not single pages.

like on my website www.habbo-weekly.uni.cc

in the content section it has home. Im trying to make that link so it links to the part of the page where it says content goes here.

like on www.habbodemand.com

when they click a link it brings them to another part of the page, i need 2 know how 2 do this

Anti-Pod
23-01-2005, 04:01 PM
that use's iframe's which is harder for newbie's, what kind of free host you using? free web's, ect...

iRoss
23-01-2005, 04:05 PM
hes using habbohosting why dont u just use a regular link2 where the div layer is?

Anti-Pod
23-01-2005, 04:07 PM
that's what i been saying, he is trying to say he wants the nav link's to show up on the right frame, like habox.com but habbox.com use's dhtml extreme advance html :) for some people, but not other's
unless you know alot of html, i would keep to basic link's div frame's, and build up slowly that way you get better mate :)

iRoss
23-01-2005, 04:14 PM
i will do an example piece of HTML and see if its ok...

Anti-Pod
23-01-2005, 04:23 PM
i did but not in as much depth

iRoss
23-01-2005, 04:44 PM
OOOOOOOOO do you meen target? so a page loads into the frame?

anyway i did this for an example, is this what u meen?


<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<html>
<head>
<title></title>
</head>
<body background="background.gif">
<div style="border-right: #ff0000 2px solid; padding-right: 5px; border-top: #ff0000 2px solid; padding-left: 5px; z-index: 1; left: 20px; background-image: none; padding-bottom: 5px; border-left: #ff0000 2px solid; width: 700px; padding-top: 5px; border-bottom: #ff0000 2px solid; position: absolute; top: 20px; height: 100px; background-color: #ffff00; layer-background-image: url();" id="title">
<div>
<img style="margin: 0px;" title="" height="65" alt="" src="/title.GIF" width="524" align="absmiddle">
<img height="56" alt="" src="/typewriter.gif" width="66"></div></div>
<div style="border-right: #ff0000 2px solid; padding-right: 5px; border-top: #ff0000 2px solid; padding-left: 5px; z-index: 1; left: 20px; background-image: none; padding-bottom: 5px; border-left: #ff0000 2px solid; width: 180px; padding-top: 5px; border-bottom: #ff0000 2px solid; position: absolute; top: 150px; height: 500px; background-color: #ffff00; layer-background-image: url();" id="content">
<div align="center">&nbsp;</div>
<div align="center"><a href="http://www.google.co.uk" target="home">Home</a></div>
<div align="center"><a href="http://www.habbox.com">News</a></div></div>
<div style="border-right: #ff0000 2px solid; padding-right: 5px; border-top: #ff0000 2px solid; padding-left: 5px; z-index: 1; left: 250px; background-image: none; padding-bottom: 5px; border-left: #ff0000 2px solid; width: 470px; padding-top: 5px; border-bottom: #ff0000 2px solid; position: absolute; top: 150px; height: 500px; background-color: #ffff00; layer-background-image: url();" id="home">Content goes here (images, text) </div>
<script language="JavaScript">
<!--
function click() {
if (event.button==2) {
alert('Habbo-Weekly has disabled right-clicking.');
}
}
document.onmousedown=click
// -->
//-->
</script>
<script language="JavaScript1.2">

//Disable select-text script (IE4+, NS6+)- By Andy Scott
//Exclusive permission granted to Dynamic Drive to feature script
//Visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com for this script

function disableselect(e){
return false
}

function reEnable(){
return true
}

//if IE4+
document.onselectstart=new Function ("return false")

//if NS6
if (window.sidebar){
document.onmousedown=disableselect
document.onclick=reEnable
}
</script>
</body>
</html>

Anti-Pod
23-01-2005, 04:46 PM
no offence, but i think that might confuse him a bit as my post did and that was just the link code which you can use, lol :) but it may not

iRoss
23-01-2005, 04:48 PM
woo didnt realise it was that big... anyway i dont know just trying 2 help :D

Anti-Pod
23-01-2005, 04:49 PM
yeh, do you mind if you or i change it to a html code box? so its not as big, lol?

iRoss
23-01-2005, 04:50 PM
done it? is that what u meen? (were going a bit off topic here)

Edit iPodi : Thanx

:Lively
23-01-2005, 05:21 PM
soz for all that, ipod made me realise that it was iframes not div frames.

Thanks for that ipod

plus thx 4 trying simplessimon12

soz 4 da confusion

Anti-Pod
23-01-2005, 05:23 PM
no problem, :) so the problem was sorted then?

:Lively
23-01-2005, 05:30 PM
yep

see www.habbo-weekly.uni.cc


its a bit more organised now, with title, home and content frames

iRoss
23-01-2005, 05:32 PM
i was quite confuzzled lol =D np =)

Anti-Pod
23-01-2005, 05:35 PM
The Left Frame Is Far To Low, I Guess You Are Using M Front Page? As That Happen's A Lot, But If You Wish I Will Redo It, Same Layout Ect.. For You, But Get The Frames To Line Up Right? It's Up To You

:Lively
23-01-2005, 05:38 PM
ok, i will


btw do u no how to add a border to the iframe??

Anti-Pod
23-01-2005, 05:38 PM
depends on what your using?

:Lively
23-01-2005, 05:44 PM
im using the html editor which habbohosting.net provides


i jus wondered the code to add a border 2 the frames, make it look a bit better :)

Anti-Pod
23-01-2005, 05:52 PM
o erm.. i never tryed habbo hosting.net i use my own, but if you use m frontpage just right click the table you used and then click add one were it says border

:Lively
23-01-2005, 05:57 PM
i dont use m frontpage

Anti-Pod
23-01-2005, 06:00 PM
ok, what do you use? to make the website? is it the hosting?

:Lively
23-01-2005, 06:10 PM
yes

i do most of my work in html

Anti-Pod
23-01-2005, 06:22 PM
o ok :)

O.o I Love Helping Out

iPodi

:Lively
23-01-2005, 08:35 PM
okay, how did u help lol

Anti-Pod
23-01-2005, 09:26 PM
Telling You It WAs Div Not IFrames Ect..

:Lively
24-01-2005, 03:35 PM
yea i no, and thx 4 dat, but how do u add a border to an iframe

Want to hide these adverts? Register an account for free!