PDA

View Full Version : SQL Injections

Hitman
24-11-2007, 04:18 PM
Hey!

I'm not good with security (lol), what do I need to do to secure my forums that put data into sql databases?

To stop sql injections, html etc?

Can somebody find me a tut or write the code with where it goes? I've used google, no use. I had it before, but the link is dead. :(

MrCraig
24-11-2007, 04:24 PM
Hey!

I'm not good with security (lol), what do I need to do to secure my forums that put data into sql databases?

To stop sql injections, html etc?

Can somebody find me a tut or write the code with where it goes? I've used google, no use. I had it before, but the link is dead. :(

Use a cleaning function :)

<?
function clean($str)
{
$cl = strip_tags(addslashes(stripslashes(htmlspecialchar s($str))));
return $cl;
}

Then use the cleaning string when declaring vars.

eg

$v1 = clean($_GET[v1]);

Hitman
24-11-2007, 04:43 PM
Thanks! :)

lolwut
24-11-2007, 04:53 PM
mysql_real_escape_string() is the best thing to help you with this, but make sure you're connected to a database first or it won't work.
I.e:

include something.php;
$var = $_POST['var'];
$newvar = mysql_real_escape_string($var);

MrCraig
24-11-2007, 05:03 PM
Dont mean to sound stupid, but what does mysql_real_escape_string do anyways ?

Like does it filter out commands or something?

Florx
24-11-2007, 06:20 PM
http://us.php.net/mysql_real_escape_string

Beau
24-11-2007, 09:37 PM
I'd suggest using sprintf as well:

$query = sprintf("SELECT * FROM users WHERE username='%s'", mysql_real_escape_string($_POST['username']);
$query = mysql_query($query);

That tells PHP beforehand what the string should look like, thus preventing injections somewhat.