PDA

View Full Version : [PHP] Is this safe enough?

wazup999
05-11-2008, 10:21 PM
Hello,

Long time since I've been on this forum. Well I started learning php, again lol and I understand it more then I did before. I was just wondering if this login and config script was safe enough to use? Maybe you guys could give me tips on how to make it better? thx :]

login.php
<?
ob_start(); //allow cookies
session_start(); //allow sessions
include ("config.php"); //connects to the Database
include ("functions.php"); //inludes the function file

if (isset($_COOKIE['remember_panel_user'])){
$check = CHECKED;
}
if ($log != 1){ // if user is logged in
if (!$_POST[submit]){ //checks if post was submitted
//Post wasn't submitted so we show the form
echo ("
<html>
<head>
</head>
<body>
<center><form method='POST'><br>
Username: <input type='text' size='15' maxlength='12' name='username' value = '$_COOKIE[remember_panel_user]'><br>
Password: <input type='password' size='15' maxlength='12' name='password'><br>
Remember Username? <input type='checkbox' name='remember' $check><br>
<input type='submit' name='submit' value='Login'>
</body>
</html>
");
}
else
{ //post was submitted so we move on
$username = secure($_POST['username']); //sets variables and removes symbols
$password = sha1(md5($_POST['password'])); //encodes the entered password
$ticket = rand(1000000000,9999999999); //makes a ticket
$remember = $_POST['remember']; //sets variable

if (empty($username)) //if username field is empty
{
die ("<center>All fields must be filled in. (Missing username)<br> If you're not redirected in 10 secondes <a href='login.php'><font color='black'><b>Click Here</a><meta HTTP-EQUIV='REFRESH' content='4; url=login.php'>");
//die the field was empty
}

$userpass = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM users WHERE username = '$username'") or die(mysql_error());
$userpass = mysql_fetch_array($userpass); //query that selects the information

$uid = $userpass[id]; //get's the users id