PDA

View Full Version : Maths A Level - To Drop Or Not To Drop?

Britvic
13-01-2009, 08:37 PM
I am currently facing a bit of a dilemna. I am in a Maths class studying A levels maths but I am so bored in the lessons. The lesson is of no interest to me and I'm not sure I'm studying it. I have been thinking about dropping this lesson for a long time but I'm not sure whether I should or not.

I am studying four other A levels: english, psychology, sociology and biology. I wanted to have 5 a level but this lesson just bores me so much. The work is so hard, in a test recently I got 7 out of 31 although I am predicted a B. I have done better than this in other tests.

I would preferably like to get an A in all of my subjects but that is highlt improbably with maths.

I have spoken to some of my friends about droping maths but one of them told me that I won't get into university without an a level in maths. Is this true?

I really need some advice as I have no idea what to do.

dirrty
13-01-2009, 08:39 PM
it depends on what course you wanna take at uni. if its maths related, then you'll probably need it at alevel. if not, then probably not. don't drop it without talking to your teacher first and see what he/she has to say.

Kardan
13-01-2009, 08:40 PM
You don't need an A-Level in Maths to get into university, unless of course, you wanted to do a Maths-related course.

As for dropping it, that's your decision but if I was you I'd drop it.

Bun
13-01-2009, 09:38 PM
i'm in the same dilemma lol, i used to like it :(.

mangle
13-01-2009, 09:43 PM
I'd say if you can get a good grade than go for it, if it's a no brainer then why split your attention over 5 different sunbjects when you could do 4?

alexxxxx
13-01-2009, 09:46 PM
i'm with richard, i think you're doing too much and this is why you're slipping in maths.

Maths is a hard subject. I personally think you'd be very strong candidate for university places if you got 3/4 a leves including maths, english, biology tbh.