PDA

View Full Version : GCSE Maths: Foundation or Higher?

Imp!
21-01-2009, 05:44 PM
Okay so the problem is I dont know which one to do for my GCSEs. Ive done two modules and got a C and a D (repeating the D in foundation.) But the problem is people are telling me that I need to get most of the foundation paper correct in order to get a C and that I may only need to get 50% of the Higher right. Tbh Im not that good at maths and I really don't want to take that risk. Any suggestions?

kurtis5561
21-01-2009, 07:45 PM
Okay so the problem is I dont know which one to do for my GCSEs. Ive done two modules and got a C and a D (repeating the D in foundation.) But the problem is people are telling me that I need to get most of the foundation paper correct in order to get a C and that I may only need to get 50% of the Higher right. Tbh Im not that good at maths and I really don't want to take that risk. Any suggestions?

Do they not do a intermediate paper anymore? That usually is the safest option can get a B maxium.

mangle
21-01-2009, 07:49 PM
Nope, they scrapped it.

--ss--
21-01-2009, 07:53 PM
Do higher, Foundation mean you will only be able to get a C if you get around 80% i'm guessing correct, where as if you want toa C on a higher paper you will only need around 50%. I'm sure with enough revision and cramming you'll easily be able to get a C on higher if you do that paper correctly, by that I mean you go for all the easy 1/2 mark questions, and then attempt the harder ones.

If you really cba to revise and know to yourself that some things are too hard for you then do a foundation paper, but even if that may be easier than the higher tier you will still have to know everything inside of it to get a C.

I reccomend asking your teacher for a past paper, both H & F and then looking through both to see which you are more comfortable with.

Hitman
21-01-2009, 08:09 PM