PDA

View Full Version : Im a musician, would a mac be best?

Fehm
11-03-2009, 08:39 PM
Hey,
Ive been using Windows for my entire life, and although i have sibelius and the likes, i was just wondering whether purchasing a Mac would enable me to progress with my music.

Does the mac come with any Mixing/Recording, Notation software prebuilt in? if not, Which ones would you recommend

Thanks alot for any help (+rep)
Callum

Josh-H
11-03-2009, 08:41 PM
Apple include their iLife suite with Garageband on every new mac. It's quite a good starting program but you may want something more advanced eventually.

Kyle!
11-03-2009, 08:52 PM
If you're only looking to buy a Mac because your a musician then no, don't buy it. The programs are pretty much the same on both sides, from the exception of GarageBand, but that's mostly for beginners.

Barmi
11-03-2009, 08:55 PM
Hey,
Ive been using Windows for my entire life, and although i have sibelius and the likes, i was just wondering whether purchasing a Mac would enable me to progress with my music.

Does the mac come with any Mixing/Recording, Notation software prebuilt in? if not, Which ones would you recommend

Thanks alot for any help (+rep)
Callum
Every new Mac comes with GarageBand, but you might want to look at this:
http://www.apple.com/uk/logicstudio/logicpro/#new

Fehm
11-03-2009, 09:05 PM
Is garage band recording software is it just like loops and synths?
Because, What i do now is when i produce a song, i record it on my minidisk which plugs into my USB and upload , and then do the sheets for it with sibelius, its just im looking for something a bit faster than Windows Vista and a Dell Laptop lol :L

Hmmm....

undecided then :S

Josh-H
11-03-2009, 09:08 PM
You can record straight from a midi source in garageband or from a microphone.

Jin
11-03-2009, 09:31 PM