PDA

View Full Version : A couple of questions about graphic tablets.

Urnuph
08-04-2009, 12:23 AM
Well I am a keen graphics designer, but I have never used a tablet - I might buy one, as some of the work around here is awesome, and i would like to do the same, plus as I already said I am into graphics. I have a few questions though.

1. Do you necessarily have to be a good drawer in real life, to be good on a tablet?
2. How do you use it exactly? Can you use a tablet in photoshop, or does it come with special software?
3. How big are they?
4. Are they easy to get started with? Like, could I just set it up and then draw away?

Any help is appreciated.

Cheers.

Recursion
08-04-2009, 06:25 AM
1. It would help, but no.
2. You can use it in just about anything, even as your mouse! ;P
3. Depends what size you get, you can get A5, A4, A3 etc..
4. Very easy, I went round my mates house, picked the pen up, he told me what the two buttons did and I was away! Infact now I want one! :]

Trinity
08-04-2009, 09:12 AM
1. It would help, but no.
2. You can use it in just about anything, even as your mouse! ;P
3. Depends what size you get, you can get A5, A4, A3 etc..
4. Very easy, I went round my mates house, picked the pen up, he told me what the two buttons did and I was away! Infact now I want one! :]

Agreed, they're incredibly easy to use. I would advise you to shop around though, I got one about a week after my cousin did, twice as good for half the price that he paid.

Thai-Man-Land
08-04-2009, 12:43 PM
can you reccomend any?

Urnuph
08-04-2009, 12:51 PM
can you reccomend any?

Thanks guys, and this is also what I would like to know. Which tablet are you using Trinity?

Trinity
08-04-2009, 02:18 PM
Thanks guys, and this is also what I would like to know. Which tablet are you using Trinity?

None anymore, I think it was a Wacom tablet though.

Recursion
08-04-2009, 02:25 PM
When you mention graphics tablets I think Wacom is the well known brand.

GommeInc