PDA

View Full Version : How to code

smiffy70
02-05-2010, 05:06 PM
hi im a total noob to this whole coding thing and i would like to get started, i dont know if there is a tutorial or what and i would like to know if i have to download software

but anway all i need is info so please write back with any hel and you will get +rep

triston220
02-05-2010, 05:29 PM
Visual Basic is a good way to start.

Jamesy
02-05-2010, 05:39 PM
http://www.w3schools.com/ is a good site. I would also suggest you download free layouts and play about with them - it's how I learnt just by tinkering with what was already there. Although remember not to claim it as your own :).

As for tools, NotePad++ is free and has syntax highlighting. You can always go for dreamweaver or something but that requires you to pay or other methods I'll not disclose ;)

Recursion
02-05-2010, 05:56 PM
What do you want to code?

You need to learn the right language for the job.

Colin-Roberts
02-05-2010, 05:57 PM
visual basics is not that good for coding anymore. it's kinda laggy ect. what do you want to code?

smiffy70
02-05-2010, 06:01 PM
i want to do stuff like web coding, u kno how they make websites and stuff to go on websites

Colin-Roberts
02-05-2010, 06:09 PM
progammers notepad, and w3schools.com would be a good start then

Recursion
02-05-2010, 06:15 PM
You'll want HTML and CSS to start with, and then go into PHP and MySQL

MattFr
02-05-2010, 06:36 PM
Don't listen to this.

Start with XHTML and CSS. Don't learn crap outdated stuff, make sure you're using divs for layouts.

Mr-Trainor
02-05-2010, 08:24 PM
i want to do stuff like web coding, u kno how they make websites and stuff to go on websites
This is the first tutorial I saw which is what taught me how to code single collumn web layouts, which is a good way to start. http://www.habboxforum.com/showthread.php?t=453923&page=1
And then, as suggested above, www.w3schools.com is also a very good site imo which I use quite often :P

Blob