PDA

View Full Version : What's the difference...

Pazza
24-10-2010, 07:17 PM
between a 3.2GHz Intel Core i3 and a Quad core 2.8GHz Intel Core i5 ?

Basically i'm buying an iMac, and the only difference between the top 2 options is that, and the graphics card, but which processor out of these 2 is best :) ?

+rep fro any help :)

hamheyelliot
24-10-2010, 07:30 PM
I'm no processor expert, but the i5 contains more capabilities such as Hyper Threading, Turbo and other jargon features I can't quite explain- whilst the i3 has less capabilities, but performs more operations per second (hence the higher GHZ number).

Hang on for a real expert to advise you in here, but I'd say based on what it can do I would choose the i5.

Pazza
24-10-2010, 07:38 PM
aahh ok, i was on the intel website and nothing made sense to me :L Thanks anyway, +rep

GoldenMerc
24-10-2010, 07:41 PM
isnt the i5 version when you can turbo boost it, in other words overclock it? Without a 3rd party app

Pazza
24-10-2010, 09:54 PM
I don't know if it helps, but the pages on the intel website are:

intel i3 (http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=48505)
and
intel i5 (http://ark.intel.com/Product.aspx?id=48496)

I read through them and nothing makes sense to me, which is why i felt the need to post this :L

Rapidshare
24-10-2010, 10:04 PM
i5 got more cores...

i3 is 2 core'd whereas i5 got 4 core'd.

You can overclock the i5 to 3.6 GHZ.. (Dont trust me on this) but the i5 is better as it got double the cores in i3..

Pazza
24-10-2010, 10:20 PM
ooh, just looked and i could also get a 2.93 GHz quad core i7 if that would be any good :L ?

EDIT: Just checked rapidshare, and the i5 has a "max turbo frequency" of 3.46 GHz, and the i7 a max turbo frequency of 3.6GHz ?

Rapidshare
24-10-2010, 10:50 PM
i7 is 6/8 cores I think..

Search up max turbo frequency, you get a better answer by someone else explaining it rather than me.