PDA

View Full Version : Since the VAT change....

LouisCollins
09-01-2011, 12:16 PM
Anyone noticed that asda, morrisions and sainsburys have gone mad on there prices since vat switch over i mean

50washes (washing powder) £5 :/ its REALLY CHEAP!

Deak
09-01-2011, 12:33 PM
Its annoying with all these changes to prices... Just stick with prices as they were :/

Oleh
09-01-2011, 12:38 PM
I noticed that amazon decided to increase the speakers i was buying for £200 to £235.

Samantha.
09-01-2011, 06:36 PM
The VAT has gone up from 17.5% to 20% hasn't it? It's annoying!

Angel-Light
09-01-2011, 06:44 PM
Try working in a shop and having to change all the price tickets -.-

We now have tickets for cameras saying £209.25 :/ It's stupid the VAT rise, it only really majorily affects higher priced items.

Samantha.
09-01-2011, 06:46 PM
I work in a shop too, it was so annoying because there are so many products and some of the prices are now ridiculous.

Starburst..x
10-01-2011, 12:07 PM
The thing that annoys me most is petrol.
My car is only a little 1.0 and now probably takes the best part of £50 to put a full tank in which is lots higher than when I first bought the car!

Chippiewill
10-01-2011, 04:31 PM
I like the un-round numbers. On a side note, many stores are using this as an opportunity to increase prices more than the VAT rise in an effort to increase profits without getting complaints since customers will get confused.

Jackkk
10-01-2011, 04:35 PM
I like the un-round numbers. On a side note, many stores are using this as an opportunity to increase prices more than the VAT rise in an effort to increase profits without getting complaints since customers will get confused.

That's exactly what happens. The bar that I work in has done this, and I am sure that other shops will too. At the end of the day, it makes sense to take the oppurtunity.