PDA

View Full Version : Is Runescape an embarrassing game?

clskate628
06-02-2011, 02:49 AM
I've been playing runescape on & off for around 4 years now. I see nothing wrong with it, just a normal game that a kid plays. But it seems to have a bad reputation, like WoW and other games.

My average conversation with some ignorant kid on xbox:
Me: Do you play runescape?
IK: **** NO. THAT GAME IS SOOO GAY.

Are you embarrassed to let people know, other than your friends that play, that you play runescape?
I know I am for sure :P. Thats why I've been keeping it a secret for all these years.

If only people these people knew what these games are really about.

Josh
06-02-2011, 02:58 AM
Hell yes. It's because you need to invest a lot of time into it. I wouldn't let anyone that doesn't play it know I do. :P

Stephen
06-02-2011, 03:00 AM
yep. To get to 99 in some skills is like wasting weeks of your life just clicking. If I was to ever tell anyone I played I'd act like a noob and pretend I just do quests and kill things

Rashelly
06-02-2011, 04:27 AM
Meh, I don't publicise it but if it comes up in conversation, I'd probably mention it. It's not really likely to come up in conversation though!
4-5 years ago when I used to play a lot I probably still would have mentioned it but not shared the extent of my...uh... habit.

Same with WoW really, that comes up in conversation every now and then, If it does, I tell people I used to play (I only played for about 6 months though)

I can see why people would want to hide it, there are so many preconceptions attached to MMORPG players.

I guess this attitude comes with age... But my friends are my friends, they're not going to be put off by my activities (you know... as long as I don't go burning kittens or forcing them to play with me). Strangers... Well if they're put off by a hobby, they're probably not worth knowing in the first place.

Make sense?

Grimmauld
06-02-2011, 07:19 AM