PDA

View Full Version : Help with Multiplayer

Pigperson
05-07-2011, 08:08 PM
I'm a noob ok :D

How do you set up a server for multiplayer, I downloaded the server program that the site suggested but what do I do now?

Also anyone up for multiplayer, I wanna see what it's like :D

Will

Adam
06-07-2011, 09:50 AM
You need a server...

Pigperson
06-07-2011, 10:18 PM
You need a server...

Well that's kinda obvious when it says you need to connect to a server to play :S

I said I downloaded the server program that was on the site but what now, or what do I do instead. Tbh, you could at least tell me how to get a server...

Will

Adam
06-07-2011, 10:26 PM
If you don't know how to get a server then this project of yours will be a complete failure. Look, I'm an honest person and I tell people the truth. You need to be able to know how to get a server, work a server, maintain a server and incorporate code into your server so it runs properly... thus having to know Java so you can sort out problems when needs be.

It's not as simple as downloading and uploading a file, you need to learn things and it's not easy and it's not a quick process. I suggest you look up some Java tutorials and some simple server tutorials and then I'm sure there's some tutorials about setting up a Minecraft server as each game's server set up will be different.

Like I said, it's not easy and unless you're actually willing to learn and put time in, don't bother.

Pigperson
07-07-2011, 07:10 PM
All I wanted to know is that it requires a lot of knowledge :D Thanks. I'll just look for other multiplayer servers to play on.

Will

Coupet
07-07-2011, 09:29 PM
OP are you wanting to set the server up on your PC? You can play on my server (I've not publically promoted it yet as it's only been set up and we need some builds). I'll message you the IP if you would like.

lTraditional
07-07-2011, 09:31 PM
There two ways you can do this: