PDA

View Full Version : USERVOICE: Improve Room Competitions

Jendro
11-10-2012, 08:37 PM
Hello everyone!

As a room builder, I don't think the current room competition judgement system has anything to do with building rooms. Therefore, I proposed something on the Uservoice forums.

Note: I don't blame geniuses like Financier, Rabbit, g.c.magic, etc. for getting votes in the smartest way to win the competitions! The flaw in the system is to blame, unfortunately ;)

Please vote for the following idea: http://habbo.uservoice.com/forums/176450-com-ideas-feedback/suggestions/3248180-improve-room-competition-judgement (http://habbo.uservoice.com/forums/176450-com-ideas-feedback/suggestions/3248180-improve-room-competition-judgement)

The problem I have with the current Room Competition Judgement system is that these 'Popularity Contests' don't have that much to do with room building creativity or aesthetically plausible rooms.

The problem:

When these competitions get democratized (i.e. when everyone can vote), the fundaments of the system at least should be fair. And this is hard when these competitions are very prone to corruption.
Now, as a result of the current system, people that host giveaways (or clone vote) win these competitions.
When people - with the equal right to vote (even clones of the same Habbo) - would have to choose between a room that gives them 1c when they vote, or a room that looks nice/creative, but leaves them empty-handed, people tend to choose for the most economical solution. Nevertheless, that makes the room competitions more like popularity contests for those who already have a lot of money on Habbo. Instead of spending this on improving their rooms, they rather spend this on gaining votes. And is this what we want for room competitions? People that make the most beautiful rooms get demotivated, and this doesn’t stimulate the creation of more beautiful rooms on this game.

Solutions: