PDA

View Full Version : Holiday pay

Richie
04-11-2012, 06:35 PM
I've been working as a casual worker for a company for the past 2/3 years. When i first joined they told us they put away 8% of our totally earnings every year for holiday pay. I've been leaving it so it keeps building up (well i thought so anyway) but i was talking to one of the chefs today and he was saying they give holiday pay yearly but only if you request it, if you don't you don't get it - this i didn't know. He said they don't back date it. Surely this has to be illegal? I should receive what I earn from holiday pay yearly whether I request it or not. Are they able to do this?

mrwoooooooo
04-11-2012, 06:40 PM
read your contract

Richie
04-11-2012, 06:42 PM
read your contract

I'm not on a contract they basically call me up when they need people to work.

sex
04-11-2012, 06:43 PM
you idiot omg you're suppose to request it every year or it essentially expires..... but im pretty sure the eu brought in a law recently that says even if you dont req it you still have to get the money. also its not 8% the law says you get 8 hours for every 100 worked

scott
04-11-2012, 06:43 PM
It'll be in your contract but I know in mine we get a set amount of holiday pay every year, we need to take it before the end of the holiday year for us or it will restart and doesn't accrue from the previous years.

IceNineKills
05-11-2012, 12:40 PM
if you're not on a contract they can do whatever they want. but when i was working in bars and retail, if holiday was never claimed then you cannot get it.

wixard
05-11-2012, 01:07 PM
holiday pay is the absolute best

Grimmauld
11-11-2012, 06:10 AM
why wouldnt you want the holiday pay, anyways :P

Firehorse
12-11-2012, 02:03 PM