PDA

View Full Version : Biased Exponents Help



lRhyss
08-01-2014, 02:14 PM
Okay, I've Googled this and I really can't find the answer, just explanations. Therefore I hope someone can help me here D:

Okay, I have the Binary representation of an exponent and the bias is 2^3 = 8

So if the Binary representation was 0000 would the biased form be 0?

And if it was 0001 would it be 1 or -1?

And if it was 0010 would it be 2 or -2?

Just a little confused haha :')

Chippiewill
08-01-2014, 06:44 PM
Your bias is 8 so you add 8 to every exponent to get the biased exponent.
0 becomes 8 (0000 -> 1000)
1 becomes 9 (0001 -> 1001)
-1 becomes 7 (-0001 -> 0111)

It's basically an alternative to 2's complement that has trade-offs which are useful for floating point numbers.

Recursion
08-01-2014, 07:12 PM
That's my fill of feeling stupid for the night filled.

Chippiewill
08-01-2014, 07:21 PM
That's my fill of feeling stupid for the night filled.

You never stop getting filled... with stupid.

lRhyss
08-01-2014, 08:54 PM
That's my fill of feeling stupid for the night filled.

Hey I'm only learning this stuff I don't really understand it :/


Your bias is 8 so you add 8 to every exponent to get the biased exponent.
0 becomes 8 (0000 -> 1000)
1 becomes 9 (0001 -> 1001)
-1 becomes 7 (-0001 -> 0111)

It's basically an alternative to 2's complement that has trade-offs which are useful for floating point numbers.
Thanks :)

Recursion
08-01-2014, 11:37 PM
Hey I'm only learning this stuff I don't really understand it :/

[FONT=Verdana]
Thanks :)

I wasn't calling you stupid, I meant I felt stupid!!

lRhyss
08-01-2014, 11:55 PM
I wasn't calling you stupid, I meant I felt stupid!!

Oh I am very sorry D: I'm only coming to grips with sarcasm over the internet and I seem to have really miss-read your post D:

lRhyss
09-01-2014, 02:52 PM
You never stop getting filled... with stupid.

Also one more thing:

I have a question about RTL, I wanna know if I have this right :P (Lost my notes)

would X = Y + Z

Be:

M(X) = [M(Y)] + [M(Z)] in RTL?

It's nicer to have someone answer your questions rather than Google, sorry :P

Chippiewill
09-01-2014, 03:23 PM
Assuming in this context that RTL means register transfer level then I'm going to need more information. Is this VHDL?

lRhyss
09-01-2014, 04:09 PM
Assuming in this context that RTL means register transfer level then I'm going to need more information. Is this VHDL?

I have no clue, the question on my revision sheet just literally says

" If the C++ was X = Y + Z

Write the RTL translation"


and yeah it's register transfer language :P

Chippiewill
09-01-2014, 04:57 PM
it's register transfer language :P

Which one?

Want to hide these adverts? Register an account for free!